Alaigal Oivathillai

Alaigal Oivathillai,P. Bharathiraja,Manivannan,Karthik,Ilaiyaraaja
Movie Rating 4 / 5


Alaigal Oyivathillai (transl. Waves don’t cease) is a 1981 Indian Tamil-language romance film directed by P. Bharathiraja, and stars Karthik and Radha in the lead roles, whilst Thiagarajan, Silk Smitha and Kamala Kamesh appear in supporting roles. This film marks the debut of both the lead actors. It follows Karthik as Vichu, a lower-class Hindu boy, falls in love with Mary (played by Radha), a Christian girl. How the lovers unite braving all the obstacles, forms the crux of the story.

The film portrays subtle hints of power-play in villages and caste and religious barriers that oppress the deemed lower in status. The story and screenplay were written by Manivannan and Bharathiraja, respectively. Bharathiraja provided voice-over for Thiagarajan, while Karthik’s voice was dubbed by S. N. Surendar and Radha’s voice was dubbed by Anuradha Paudwal. The cinematography was handled by B. Kannan, and editing was handled by R. Bhaskaran. The music for the film is composed by Ilaiyaraaja, and the songs were highly praised, being regarded as one of his best works till date.

Alaigal Oivathillai was released on 18 July 1981 to positive reviews, and became a blockbuster. The film received eight Tamil Nadu State Film Awards. It went on to become a cult film in later years. Bharathiraja remade the film in Telugu as Seethakoka Chiluka in 1981, where Karthik reprised his role from the original, and in Hindi as Lovers in 1983.


  • Karthik as Vichu (voice over by S. N. Surendar)
  • Radha as Mary (voice over by Anuradha)
  • Thiagarajan as David (voice over by P. Bharathiraja)
  • Deepak
  • Yunes
  • Ranga
  • Ramesh
  • Purushothaman
  • Smitha as Elissy
  • Kamala Kamesh as Vichu’s mother (voice over by Hemamalini)
  • Renu Chandra
  • Periya Karuppu Thevar
  • Vellai Subbiah


No Title Lyrics Singers Composer Length
1 “Aayiram Thamarai” Vairamuthu S. P. B,  S. JanakiChitra Ilaiyaraaja 4:30
2 “Darisanam Kidaikatha” (Female) Ilaiyaraaja S. Janaki Ilaiyaraaja 1:12
3 Darisanam Kidaikatha” (Male) Ilaiyaraaja Ilaiyaraaja Ilaiyaraaja 1:50
4 “Kadhal Oviyam” (Version 1) Vairamuthu Ilaiyaraaja,Jency Anthony Ilaiyaraaja 4:38
5 “Kadhal Oviyam” (Version 2) Vairamuthu Ilaiyaraaja,Jency Anthony Ilaiyaraaja 1:51
6 “Lambodhara” Ilaiyaraaja S.Janaki Ilaiyaraaja 0:53
7 “Putham Pudhu Kaalai” Gangai Amaran S. Janaki Ilaiyaraaja 4:34
8 “Sa Ri Ga Ma Pa” Ilaiyaraaja Guruvayoor Rajam, S. Janaki Ilaiyaraaja 2:03
9 “Thothiram Paadiye” Ilaiyaraaja Ilaiyaraaja, B.S Sasirekha Ilaiyaraaja 0:47
10 “Vaadi En Kappa Kelange” Gangai Amaran Ilaiyaraaja, Gangai Amaran, Bhaskaran, Jency Anthony Ilaiyaraaja 4:45
11 “Vaazhvellam Aanandame” Ilaiyaraaja Ilaiyaraaja, S. Janaki Ilaiyaraaja 1:27
12 “Vizhiyil Vizhundhu” Vairamuthu Ilaiyaraaja, B.S Sasirekha Ilaiyaraaja 4:03