yogi,Ameer Tamil Movie Album
Movie Rating 3 / 5


Yogi is a 2009 Indian Tamil-language action drama film directed by Subramaniam Siva, starring director-turned-actor Ameer as the titular protagonist alongside Madhumitha, and Swathi, Vincent Asokan, Ponvannan, lyricist Snehan in his acting debut, and Ganja Karuppu. An uncredited remake of the 2005 South African Academy Award-winning film Tsotsi, the film was written and produced by Ameer himself, and features musical score composed by Yuvan Shankar Raja.

The film follows Yogi, a slum-dwelling criminal who makes a living out of murders and robberies. When he is chased by cops during a robbing spree, Yogi steals a woman’s car and succeeds in fleeing. His life starts to change when he realizes there is a baby inside the car, and he can’t just let go of it even though he attempts to do so while abandoning the getaway car.

Launched in October 2007, Yogi was released theatrically on 27 November 2009, opening to mixed reviews. Critics praised the performances but criticized the excessive melodrama, slow pacing and similarities to Tsotsi. It became a moderate box office success. The same year, it was showcased at the 6th Dubai International Film Festival.


  • Ameer as Yogeshwaran (Yogi)
  • Madhumitha as Rajasulochana
  • Swathi as Caroline Linden
  • Vincent Asokan as Linden Fernando
  • Snehan as Sadai
  • Ganja Karuppu as “Stills” Mani
  • Babu as Aspiring Actor
  • Ponvannan
  • Nandha Periyasamy
  • Besant Ravi
  • Dinakaran Reporter Devaraj as Yogi’s father
  • Ghazali as MLA Thiruna
  • Vinodh as Inbaraj
  • Jijuba as Urula (Sampath)


No Title Lyrics Singers Composer Length
1 “Yogi Yogi Thaan” Snehan BlaazeNeha Bhasin Yuvan Shankar Raja 3:56
2 “Yaarodu Yaaro” Snehan Yuvan Shankar RajaUstad Sultan Khan Yuvan Shankar Raja 5:24
3 “Yogi Theme In Saarangi Snehan Ustad Sultan Khan Yuvan Shankar Raja 4:02
4 “Seermevum Koovathiley” Snehan Ameer, Naveen, Snehan, Jijuba Yuvan Shankar Raja 5:52
5 “Yogi Theme Music” Yuvan Shankar Raja 1:57
6 “Yogi Yogi Thaan Version II” Snehan Blaaze, Neha Bhasin Yuvan Shankar Raja 4:18