Movie Rating 4.5 / 5


Rajinimurugan is a 2016 Indian Tamil-language masala film written and directed by Ponram, and produced by director N. Lingusamy and N. Subash Chandra Bose under the banner Thirrupathi Brothers. This is the second directorial venture of Ponram, after Varuthapadaatha Valibar Sangam (2013). It stars Sivakarthikeyan, playing the titular role, Rajini Murugan, who is a jobless youth, decides to sell his grandfather’s property, to become rich. Keerthy Suresh and Soori portray the lead roles, while RajkiranSamuthirakani and Achyuth Kumar amongst others play supporting roles.

The film features soundtrack composed by D. Imman, with all lyrics were written by Yugabharathi. The cinematography was handled by Balasubramaniem, and edited by Vivek Harshan. Filming took place extensively in Madurai and Karaikkudi. The film’s principal photography was commenced on 25 August 2014, and the shooting completed in March 2015.

Rajinimurugan, which faced multiple postponements, released on 14 January 2016, during the Thai Pongal festival. The film grossed ₹51 crore (US$7.2 million).

The film was remade in Kannada as Raj Vishnu starring Sharan in the lead role and released on 2017


  • Sivakarthikeyan in a dual role as:
    • M. Rajini Murugan, an unemployed youngster who wants to be a businessman.
    • Bose Pandi, Ayyankalai’s grandson (cameo appearance)
  • Soori as Thotathree, Rajini Murugan’s best friend
  • Rajkiran as Ayyankalai, Rajini Murugan’s grandfather
  • Keerthy Suresh as Karthika Devi (KD), Rajini Murugan’s love interest
  • Samuthirakani as “Ezhrai” Mookan
  • Dharshan as Rajini Murugan’s Cousin Brother
  • G. Gnanasambandam as Malligairajan, Rajini Murugan’s father
  • Achyuth Kumar as Neelakandan, Karthika’s father, Malligairajan’s friend, and a hardcore Rajini fan
  • Dheepa Ramanujam as Rajini Murugan’s mother
  • Manobala as Kunjithapatham, Audi Car Showroom Manager
  • Namo Narayana as Thangavel, Panchayath party
  • Vela Ramamoorthy as Chellakarupan, Head of Usilampatti Panchayath
  • Andreanne Nouyrigat as Andrea
  • Subramaniapuram Raja as Thangapandi, Panchayath party
  • Supergood Subramani as Police Officer
  • Hello Kandasamy as astrologer
  • Thavasi as Madasamy
  • Meena Vemuri as Rajini Murugan’s Aunt
  • Bhawana Aneja
  • Naadodigal Gopal as Thotathree’s father
  • Gajaraj as Rajinimurugan’s relative
  • Baba Bhaskar (special appearance in the song “Yennama Ipadi Panreengalaema”)


No Title Lyrics Singers Composer Length
1 “Rajini Murugan” Yugabharathi Sivakarthikeyan D. Imman 4:51
2 “Un Mela Oru Kannu” Yugabharathi Jithin Raj, Mahalakshmi Iyer D. Imman 4:31
3 “Aavi Parakkum” Yugabharathi V. M. Mahalingam, Badava Gopi D. Imman 4:55
4 “Yennamma Ippadi Panreengalema” Yugabharathi D. Imman D. Imman 4:23
5 “Jigiru Jigiru” Yugabharathi Diwakar, Kalpana Raghavendar D. Imman 4:42
6 “Yennamma Ippadi Panreengalema” (D. Imman Mix) Yugabharathi D. Imman, Aaryan Dinesh Kanagaratnam D. Imman 4:23
7 “Rajini Murugan” (Karaoke) D. Imman 4:51
8 “Un Mela Oru Kannu” (Karaoke) D. Imman 4:31
9 “Aavi Parakkum” (Karaoke) D. Imman 4:55
10 “Yennamma Ippadi Panreengalema” (Karaoke) D. Imman 4:23